Is There Gluten in Your Lipstick?

If you keep having allergic reactions and you can’t figure out what they are from, they could be from your lipstick – or the lipstick of someone you’ve kissed!

Yes, many lipsticks do contain gluten. Here is a list of ingredients that contain gluten that you should look out for:

  • Amino peptide complex
  • Hordeum vulgare (barley) extract
  • Phytosphingosine extract
  • Triticum vulgare (wheat) extract
  • Hydrolyzed wheat extract or proteins
  • Protein
  • Disodium wheatgermamido PEG-2 sulfosuccinate
  • Hydroxypropyltrimonium hydrolyzed wheat protein
  • Cyclodextrin
  • Dextrin palmitate
  • Secale cereal
  • Malt extract
  • Maltodextrin
  • Yeast extract
  • Avena sativa

Here are a few companies that manufacture gluten free lipsticks:

Ecco Bella

Bare Minerals

Afterglow Cosmetics

For more information on living a gluten free life, recipes, and coaching help, go to:

{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment